WAYNE, Neb. -- Katie Wilson from Wayne State College was inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame.

Wayne State's first-ever NCAA Division II individual female national champion, track and field standout Katie Wilson, was one of seven standout athletes inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame Tuesday evening during a banquet held at the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Moorhead, Minnesota at the NSIC's annual Summer Kickoff event.

Wilson joined volleyball player Maggie McNamara of Concordia-St. Paul; men's basketball player Jim Kapitan from MSU Moorhead; women's track and field athlete Amanda (Madden) Mahlke of Northern State; wrestler Link Steffen from Southwest Minnesota State; men's basketball player Matt Schneck of St. Cloud State; and baseball player Ben Barrone of Winona State as other members of the 2022 NSIC Hall of Fame Class.

A native of Glenwood, Iowa, Wilson was a standout thrower for the Wayne State women's track and field team from 2005 to 2009. She helped WSC to three straight runner up finishes at the NSIC Indoor Championships, winning two NSIC indoor shot put titles in 2005 and 2006 and five conference titles in the outdoor season in the 2005 shot put, 2008 discus and hammer throw and 2009 shot put and discus.

Wilson was a four time All-American at WSC, highlighted by the 2008 outdoor national title in the shot put that made her the first female NCAA national champion in school history. Other All-American honors included fifth in the 2006 indoor shot put, fourth in the 2008 indoor shot put and fifth in the 2008 outdoor discus.

Wilson held school records in five events and was the 2005 NSIC Outdoor Newcomer of the Year and 2006 NSIC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year. She is currently a fifth grade teacher and assistant volleyball/track and field coach at Glenwood High School in Iowa.

Wilson becomes the seventh individual from Wayne State College to be inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame, joining baseball player Dustin Jones in 2019; volleyball player Emily (Schroeder) Jones in 2018; retired baseball coach John Manganaro in 2016; softball/soccer standout player Sarah (Herrick) Wagenfuhr in 2015; baseball pitcher Brady Borner in 2012; and the late athletic director Pete Chapman athletic director in 2006.