NORFOLK, Neb. -- Winter refuses to release its icy grip on Nebraskans.

Knox, Cedar, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Boone, Madison, Stanton, Boyd, Holt, Loup, Garfield, Wheeler, Custer, Greeley, Nance, Howard, Merrick, Valley and Sherman Counties are now under a winter storm warning from until 7 p.m. CT Thursday.

Platte, Colfax, Dodge, Washington, Butler, Saunders, Thurston, Cuming, Cherry, Keya Paha, Rock, Brown, Hooker, Thomas, Blaine, McPherson, Logan, Lincoln, Frontier, Dakota, Dixon, Polk, Dawson, Buffalo, Hall, Hamilton, York, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney and Adams Counties are in a winter weather advisory until Friday morning.

The National Weather Service initially issued the alerts Monday morning in preparation for the upcoming winter storm moving into the state. 

A system began making its way into the state early Thursday, which could bring anywhere from two to seven inches of snow in the affected areas, with a light glaze of ice possible as temperatures continue to drop.

The snow will be paired with heavy winds, gusting up to 55 miles per hour at times, which forecasters say could make for whiteout conditions, particularly during Thursday's evening commute.

That stands in sharp contrast to Wednesday, with highs having reached the mid 60s in northeast Nebraska and close to 70 in central Nebraska.

News Channel Nebraska has you covered with all the latest information on roads, cancellations, closings, forecasts and more.