HASTINGS, Neb. -- All 93 of Nebraska's counties are now in some form of winter alert.

Several western and central Nebraska counties are in a winter storm warning from Tuesday afternoon until Wednesday night. The more northern locations could receive up to a foot of snow.

Garden, Grant, Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Deuel, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Cherry, Blaine, Loup, Garfield, Wheeler, Custer, Keya Paha, Boyd, Brown, Rock, Holt, Valley, Greeley, Nance, Sherman, Howard, Merrick, Polk, Dawson, Buffalo, Hall, Hamilton, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Adams, Furnas, Scotts Bluff, Banner, Morrill, Kimball, Cheyenne and Thomas Counties are all under the winter weather warning issued by the National Weather Service.

Box Butte, Sioux, Cherry and Sheridan Counties are under a winter storm watch until Wednesday evening, with up to eight inches of snow possible in the Panhandle counties.

Knox, Cedar, Thurston, Antelopes, Pierce, Wayne, Boone, Madison, Stanton, Cuming, Burt, Platte, Colfax, Dodge, Washington, Butler, Saunders, Douglas, Sarpy, Seward, Lancaster, Cass, Saline, York, Clay, Fillmore, Harlan, Franklin, Webster and Nuckolls Counties are also under a winter storm watch, with the watch scheduled to expire late Wednesday night. Up to 10 inches of snow is possible in some of the eastern communities.

The remaining counties -- Dawes and northern Sioux in the Panhandle, and Otoe, Jefferson, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, Richardson and Thayer Counties in far southeast Nebraska -- are under a winter storm advisory until Wednesday night.