NORFOLK, Neb. -- Races remain tight in Madison County as votes continue to be tallied into Wednesday morning.

The closest of all the races in the northeast Nebraska county appears to be in the battle for the Ward 4 seat in the Norfolk City Council. Incumbent Andrew McCarthy held a slight two-vote edge over Zach Steiner as of early Wednesday morning.

Corey Granquist, Justin B. Webb and Shane Clausen won the other Norfolk City Council seats up for grabs, all winning uncontested races.

In the Norfolk Public School Board, three candidates all endorsed by the Madison County GOP all appeared to be in position to claim the three open spots, with Teri Bauer, Cindy Booth and Lindsay Dixon holding the top three spots in a field of six as of early Wednesday. Dixon held a 105-vote advantage over Jake Claussen, who was endorsed by the Nebraska Democratic Party, for the third and final spot.

It was a less successful night for one of the Madison County Republicans' other endorsements, with Matthew Neujahr falling to Melissa Temple in the LENRD Subdistrict 3 race. By Wednesday morning, Temple had over two-thirds of the vote. Temple touted late endorsements by three people who had served on the LENRD board.

In the NPPD Subdistrict 10 race, Sue Fuchtman scored a win over Ben Temple.

In a trio of contested Madison County mayoral races, two races were called Tuesday night, while another hung in the balance. Heath Mettler held a slight lead over John Bomar. Rob Fite claimed the Madison mayor's position, while Tom Nelson was voted Tilden's mayor.

For a full list of results in northeast Nebraska and across the state, click here.