WAYNE, Neb. -- For the second time in school history, the Wayne State College football team is awarded an NCAA Division II playoff berth as the Wildcats were named the #6 seed in Super Region 4 after winning a share of the NSIC regular season title and finishing with a 9-2 record. The NCAA announced Sunday afternoon that the Wildcats will travel to Mankato to face #3 seed Minnesota State on Saturday with a game time to be announced.

It’s the second time in school history that Wayne State has reached the NCAA Division II playoffs, joining the 2008 team that advanced to the playoffs before falling at Chadron State 23-17 in the NCAA Super Region 3 first round matchup to finish that season with a 9-3 record. Current Wayne State head coach Logan Masters was a junior wide receiver on that WSC team. Current offensive coordinator Collin Prosser was a senior captain.

"You just want a chance, a seat at the table," Masters said. "We got it here."

Wayne State and Minnesota State met in the regular season on October 8 in Wayne with the Wildcats outscoring the Mavericks 41-33.

"We know each other, so it's not like you're preparing for the unknown," Masters said. "There's no easy draws. This is the playoffs. We've just got to go play well. It's about us, no one else. If we can go out, do our job, execute, play with love and passion for each other, we'll have a chance at the end."

Angelo State of Texas was announced as the top seed in Super Region 4 and will earn a first-round bye with an 11-0 record.  Colorado School of Mines (9-2) is the #2 seed and will host fellow Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference foe Colorado State Pueblo (8-3). 

The other first round matchups will showcase Northern Sun Conference teams as #3 Minnesota State (9-2) hosts #6 seed Wayne State (9-2) while #4 seed Bemidji State (9-2) entertains #5 seed Winona State (8-3).

NCAA Division II Super Region 4 Playoff Pairings


Saturday, November 19th – First Round

Game times to be announced

#1 seed Angelo State (11-0) bye

#5 seed Winona State (8-3) at #4 seed Bemidji State (9-2)

#7 seed Colorado State Pueblo (8-3) at #2 seed Colorado School of Mines (9-2)

#6 seed Wayne State (9-2) at #3 seed Minnesota State (9-2)